Leveraged Staycation – Day 5

Well, my vacation has ended. The week went by so fast, it’s hard to imagine how much stuff was packed into it. Friday I spent most of the day finishing organizing the CORE library with a break in the middle to participate in Adopt-a-Block. I joined a highschool group in picking up trash down a street in the community around City of Refuge, and going door to door asking questions to gain a better understanding of the people and needs in the neighborhood.

I will miss my new friends, buy I’m working on plans to stay involved at some level. I have learned a lot this week, gained a better understanding of the challenges that face lower income communities and the people that live there. This week has been quite refreshing and energizing as well. More ideas and dreams have been birthed in my heart and I have a lot more to pray about.

4 Comments

Filed under Leverage, Service

4 responses to “Leveraged Staycation – Day 5

  1. j

    That sounds truly amazing and I’m sad your vacation has ended, but something tells me that is not the last that community will see of you…

  2. I love the word “staycation” – it makes me smile!

Leave a Reply

