Passion 2011: Report

This post is somewhat delayed, I’m still working on posting regularly. Passion 2011 was amazing, awesome, humbling, refreshing, renewing, challenging and inspiring. Things are changing, God is doing something and I am thrilled to be a small part in the movement He is behind. So much went down in these four days, much of it I won’t attempt to put into words but I will share a few glimpses as best as I can.

John Piper spoke at the last evening main session, I wasn’t in the session and don’t know exactly what he said but I saw it in the eyes and faces of the attendees as they filed out of Philips Arena, silently going to their Community Groups.

I went in to Passion this year somewhat spent, not sure if I had much to offer. I didn’t, but as I was emptied of myself by the end of the second day, the Holy Spirit came in and miracles happened.

As the days of the conference wore on, anywhere I went, I saw students praying. In twos and threes, in larger groups, with homeless people, it was everywhere and it was thrilling.

Do Something Now was, as usual, amazing and they raised over a million dollars for causes around the world, but more important than that, as important and wonderful as it is, are the thousands of college students all over the world who have caught a vision for the Kingdom of God and His glory. I can only imagine the long-term effects they, and I, will have on this world.

I didn’t take many pictures, but here are some of the ones I did take.

Towels and Socks for Atlanta shelters

The Glorious Wall - you can't see it but there are hundreds of small message written on it

These red bowls represent over a thousand hungry children fed

A Bird's Eye View of Do Something Now at Passion 2011

More Bird's Eye View

2 Comments

Filed under Passion Conference, Service

2 responses to “Passion 2011: Report

  1. J

    Those are amazing shots! Did you take any video that you can share? What was on the wall for the “I am part of the movement to end human trafficking”? The causes were amazing and on top of that the booths or areas visually were so creative and inspiring themselves!! Do you know if they have a visual arts team that comes up with the displays? I think the Do Something Now room is smart, appropriate and dynamic considering the massive amount of stimulus young people receive today! These amazing service and giving opportunities obviously made a major impact as the students raised over a million dollars!! That blows me away!!

    • Thanks! I did take some video that I will put up in the future sometime but it was only of the Glorious Wall and the wall with the “graffiti” on it. The wall you are asking about had mini-polaroid pictures of everyone who had donated to the cause to end human trafficking during Passion. The do have creative people that design and build the environments, I believe most of them are talented volunteers. Do Something Now is amazing, the pictures don’t do justice to how inspiring and creative they are in person.

Leave a Reply

