Chris Tomlin: And if our God is for us

One word: Awesome.

I downloaded this album from iTunes the day it was released and proceeded to listen to it none stop for several weeks. This is my usual procedure with any new album that I love, I have to listen to it over and over, internalize it, know the songs.

Favorite songs on the album:

“Our God” – I already loved this song from Awakening and at first was like, “do we need another version, really?” But after hearing it with the strings, yes, we needed it.

“I Will Follow” – this is one of the songs that we had a sneak preview of at Passion City Church and from the first time we sang it, it has been one of my theme songs. This song verbalizes and expresses what I want my life to be about, period. And I love the sound of it, kind of bouncy, you could definitely dance to it if the mood strikes.

“I Lift my Hands” – this was another song that we sang at Passion City Church before the album was released and it expresses what I have to remind myself constantly, “I lift my hands to believe again, You are my refuge, You are my strength. As I pour out my heart these things I remember, You are faithful God forever. Let faith arise…”

“All to Us” – I was waiting for this one. Also sung at Passion City Church prior to the album release and specifically sung for the first time at the first (for me anyway) informational meeting about 515 Garson Drive. We were at GACS that night and there was an informational meeting after for anyone who wanted to stay, I knew I needed to stay. That was the first time I heard about 515 Garson Drive and Pastor Louie shared his vision for PCC. In that moment, I knew that this was where I was supposed to be, all of the visions that had been birthed in my heart but didn’t seem to really fit with where I currently was, were meant to for the city. Things just fell into place in my head and heart. At the end of the meeting, Louie asked Chris Tomlin to close us and after sharing his heart, he sang this song which pretty much sums it up. It’s all about Jesus, all for Jesus, He is all to us.

2 Comments

Filed under 515 Garson Drive, Music to Love, Passion City Church

2 responses to “Chris Tomlin: And if our God is for us

  1. JP

    Music has no price tag… Thanks for sharing all of these amazing songs and personal perspectives single out!

Leave a comment